RSS Feed

Ten Things I Learned While Shopping with My Sister

Posted on

1. Forever 21 lies. I most definitely felt 31 while in that store. Maybe older.

2. Fashion really does travel in decade circles. That black and white thick-striped shirt or the screaming neon workout wear? Didn’t look good in the 80s, doesn’t look good now.

3. When shopping for a more ‘current’ and ‘trendy’ style, it helps to have someone with you that actually knows what the current trends are.

4. Forever 21 doesn’t carry anything that extends lower than mid-thigh. Things that are that ‘long’ are actually worn as dresses.

5. Hobo-chic actually is a legitimate current style. Here I thought it was just something we joked about when we saw certain celebrities.

6. H&M has stepped up its quality. Ok, well, maybe not ‘quality’, but definitely style trends. I felt I could outfit my entire wardrobe in there.

7. If you wear a small or even a medium, you shall never go naked when you shop at Forever 21.

8. If you wear a large, you are kind of screwed. For help with finding things, see number 3 again.

9. I like sparkly things.

10. We apparently need to open a personal shopping branch in our business, because we could make bank. And when I say ‘we’, I mean my sister.

 

$200 later, I came away with 8 shirts, a super cute 50s style dress that I now feel a need to get new shoes and a belt for, and a $40 pair of jeans. $40. This is more than I’ve spent on jeans in the past 5 years. Scary thing is that this is considered ‘cheap’.

Speaking of those jeans, I am considering them to be semi-skinny jeans. They are much more form-fitting than my usual jeans, but they still have a bootcut to them. I did try on a pair of skinny jeans (which I’ve always said only the ‘skinny’ should ever wear–this excludes me) at my sister’s insistence. I will admit they were not terrible, but I am still not quite at that level of comfort to allow my legs to be fully suctioned to denim when there are bulges that I don’t like. Even if the random lady in the dressing room loved them on me. Maybe if the Brazil Butt Lift workouts do their magic, I will try them on again.

 

Leave a Reply

