RSS Feed

Are you RPO?

Posted on

You are probably wondering, ‘What is RPO?’ No, I didn’t spell RIP incorrectly.

RPO means ‘Really Pissed Off’. (Yep, I made that up. Go with it.)

RPO is an internal thing. It isn’t something you share on your face, or in your actions, or your words (that’s just pissed off). It isn’t visible as being the accepted form of ‘pissed off’, where you likely verbally abuse someone that made you angry, or slam doors and declare your irritation loudly. It is a pulsing, vibrating, emanating emotion that drives you. It keeps you going, day after day, when no one seems to be on your side. When no one understands how badly you want something. When it drives you insane that no one (or at least, next to no one) wants something for themselves just as badly. You just don’t get why they feel that way, because you feel so strongly about it.

If you feel any of this, you are RPO.

RPO pushes you to do things you may not otherwise do. It encourages you to take chances. It helps you make that leap of faith. It tells you, Why not try? instead of, You might fail! It is a boiling point that might make you uncomfortable in the pit of your stomach, constantly, until you find the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel. When you do find that light, though…be prepared to have that RPO feeling until you actually feel the warmth of light and freedom on your face. Could take time, but it will be worth it.

When you get RPO, you start looking. You start searching. For anything and everything that can help you get out of where you are at currently.  You may not make a move for a while, or you may continue what you are doing while pursuing your exit strategy (which I’ve discussed before).  You may be open with others about your desires, or you may keep it to yourself, for fear of them pooh-poohing your dreams.

I’ve been RPO since 2001. Been there, done that. Still doing it, daily. I started 12 years ago, at the tender age of 20. I already knew that working sucked. I already knew that even though I had a high IQ, and did well in school, didn’t mean crap when it came to the fact that I didn’t know what I wanted to do (who the hell does at age 20??), despised having a boss, and was repelled by people paying me next to nothing while I dedicated my precious time to them. We can never get back time, do not forget that.

Did that mean that I refused to do these things? No. I still had bills to pay. But it did mean that I started looking for alternatives early on. ‘Tried’ being the operative word.

Tune in tomorrow, when I will begin to recount where I got my start in the ‘non-traditional income’ game (and it truly is a game), and where I failed, if I succeeded, and why I chose the things that I did.

~V

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: My First Attempt to Soothe Being RPO | A Healthy Dose of V

  2. Pingback: If At First You Don’t Succeed, Fail, Fail Again! | A Healthy Dose of V

  3. Pingback: Full Speed Ahead, Next Stop: Creativeville #RPO #PlanB | A Healthy Dose of V

  4. Pingback: The Tipping Point of ‘Situations V Can Handle’ | A Healthy Dose of V

Leave a Reply

